I’ve Got An Attitude…………

It’s Thanksgiving and the fucking media is driving me crazy – telling me what the perfect Thanksgiving dinner should be and how to set the perfect Thanksgiving day table, with ads for black Friday and Christmas.  I would rather stick an ice pick in my ear than go to a store of black Friday.  I would rather eat a plate of cockroaches than buy a Christmas gift.  I blame myself partly for even having the television on but it is everywhere – radio, internet, even my snail mail is filled with catalogs galore.  It is no wonder this time of year has the highest suicide rate.

Last night I had to attend two “public me” events and at one of them I had the pleasure – NOT – of sitting next to a member of the local media who asked me what I was doing for Thanksgiving and I wanted to reach over the armrest and slap the bitch out.  Mostly because this same media person wrote nasty shit about me a couple of weeks ago and now she was trying to make nice small talk.  Bitch please……………

  • SEH is out-of-state with his family for the holiday and I just ignored a telephone call from him.
  • The meeting with the person taking my job after the first of the year went well.  Blahahaha……….they have no idea what they are in for.
  • BFF actually called me yesterday to wish me a Happy Thanksgiving and to see if I was available to get together this weekend.  I cried – a lot.
  • The ankle/foot thing is feeling much better – not perfect but better.
  • I am attempting to cook a couple of dishes today to take with me to Mini me’s house.  I don’t think I was a chef in another life.

I use to practice my “attitude of gratitude” daily.  I would make a list of all the things I was grateful for everyday.  Some days the list would fill the whole page and some days it would have one thing on it – that I was grateful I made it though the day.  I don’t know why I stopped doing it.  In hindsight – regardless of the cancer, my addictions, stress and being a Hot Mess I really do have a lot to be grateful for.

Today I am grateful / thankful …………..

  • for a roof over my head, clothes on my  back and food in the fridge
  • that I have a car and a garage to park it in
  • for the great stock of paints, brushes, canvases and art supplies I have
  • that the sun is shining
  • I will be spending today with Mini Me and her family
  • for the cup of coffee I am sipping, the warm blanket I am wrapped in and the laptop I am typing on
  • for early text messages from my brother

I wish anyone who should happen to stumble upon this blog a Happy Thanksgiving.  And if you should happen to stumble upon this humble blog remember don’t pay attention to the fuckin media – spend the day doing something that makes you happy.  You don’t have to be surrounded by family who drives you crazy or spend endless hours cooking a meal no one will be grateful for – do something for you!  And remember – and this comes from someone who is pretty fucked up physically and mentally – you can always find something to be grateful for even if it is just making it through the day.

5 thoughts on “I’ve Got An Attitude…………

  1. Enjoy your’re day. I for one, will remain the same dress size because I’m not doing thanksgiving this year. Family is spread all over the winter weather (i hate the cold and snow), and I think I will use the day to go to the gym, and shopping, or shoplooking, then I need to come back home and clean, clean, clean… Happy Thanksgiving to you. 🙂

  2. Happy Thanksgiving, Little Miss Muse…… I am not sure what we are doing, the recent discoveries have really put a strain on my poor wife’s already strained mind, she pulls even farther from me these days. enjoy your day, I will do my best to do the same….. So far the coffee is hot and Netflix is running….. at least I get the day off with pay….

    And you know how I feel the only thing I look forward to on black Friday is the list of Holiday fatalities caused by the spreading of Christmas cheer on the great black Friday…. Nothing says love thy fellow man, like being trampled to death to save 25%

  3. I’m spending the day at home by myself catching up on things and it is awesome. My only regret is that I forgot to stock up on wine– but there is always tomorrow for that.
    I’m glad you will be with someone you care about for Thanksgiving– I’m also glad the BFF called you; hopefully that all works out?
    We definitely always have things to be grateful for… Just have to squint sometimes to see them.

  4. I enjoy the holidays, but I agree the consumerism is is outrageous. That’s not what the holidays are really about. I usually hide in my house on Black Friday, but tomorrow I’m going to see a musical instead. People can go blow their money if that makes them happy. I will be hiding from them in the theater.

    Hope you have a great thanksgiving with mini-me

  5. I puke in my mouth a little when the 3 H’s (holidays) come. Tgiving, Xmas and New Years. How could I have ever enjoyed this junk? What little family I have is beyond dysfunctional. I’ve never fit in, I can’t swear or tell crass jokes. Basically, I can’t be me. People over do Xmas. Whatever. Save your money and buy your own damn gift. Something you actually like. Screw a Christmas tree. Bah humbug. The hardest for me is New Years. I always feel so lonely and left out in the celebration. I want someone to kiss me when the ball drops. How tragic!!!! BTW- love your blog. You write amazingly well.

Leave a Reply

