Somewhere Over The Rainbow

Without a doubt my favorite version of this song.

Though I am trying my best to maintain one I just haven’t had a good attitude lately.  The pain in my shoulders, neck and arms has been coming and going and more often than not it is in the coming stages.  My motto lately has been “suck it up princess” and that is what I have been trying to do.

Friends of mine were visiting from New York and as I was saying good-bye to them last night I got emotional.  Emotional because I didn’t know if I would be able to make my annual trek there on Mother’s Day weekend as I have for the past 6 years.  Emotional because it was the first time – even though he is 6 months old – I got to meet the newest addition to their family.  I was scheduled to visit them this past Summer but due to obligation in the “public me” job and not feeling up to par I just couldn’t make it.  It was really good to see them – to laugh as hard as I did and to hug them tight.

Superbowl Sunday and for the first time in a long time I have no desire to even watch – no favorite team – could care less.  I’m thinking of holding off on my errand running today until 6:00 P.M. and hope all the stores will be empty because the rest of the world will be home watching it.  The damn groundhog saw his shadow and the silly guys dressed in funny suits say six more weeks of winter – funny – considering the weather man told me about 3 hours before the damn hog saw his shadow that the next major storm is scheduled for Wednesday with up to 10 inches of heavy snow…….ugh.

I am thinking of giving Buddy’s mom a call to see how he is doing.  I’ve been wanting to call since I got home on Wednesday but she made me feel so bad last week that I am not looking forward to the conversation.  As awful as this sounds I wanted to break her arm – all she did was complain – she really had the “poor me’s” and no “poor Buddy’s” – it’s sad really.  Imagine being so self-absorbed that you feel more sorry for yourself than your son who just broke his arm.

 

3 thoughts on “Somewhere Over The Rainbow

Leave a Reply

